You may live in Louisiana, or you may be visiting. Either way, you may be curious to know what the state’s alcohol laws are. It is known that Louisianan is one of the least restrictive when it comes to its alcohol laws.
Generally, the state law says that alcohol can be sold and brought all through the week. There are no particular laws about selling alcohol at particular times.
However, restaurants and bars must be shut by 2am. Although, in New Orleans, certain bars are allowed to be open 24 hours.
In this article, we will be discussing Louisiana beer laws. Including, where you can buy beer, delivery, Sunday sales and much more.
Could Louisiana Be A Dry State?
If a state in America is considered dry, that means that alcohol isn’t sold anywhere within that state. However, as Louisiana allows the purchasing of alcohol, it isn’t seen as a dry state.
Alongside the fact it has some of the least restrictive laws, it could never be seen as a dry state overall.
In fact, there are no dry states in the whole of the whole of America. However, there may be areas, such as counties or parishes, that are dry. Yet there are no whole states that are seen as completely dry.
In Louisiana, they don’t use the term counties like the majority of other states.
Instead, Louisiana is divided into 64 parishes. Within these parishes, the majority of them are seen as wet or a mixture of both dry and wet.
All this means is that in certain parishes, the sales of alcohol are banned.
Times You Can Purchase Beer In Louisiana
In Louisiana, it is a rule that all restaurants and bars must close every night by 2 am. However, in New Orleans this rule doesn’t apply, as some bars and restaurants are allowed to remain open 24 hours a day.
It is known that there is no statewide law which limits when beer can be sold. However, in some parishes they may have their own rules and limit at what times you can purchase beer.
Buying Beer On A Sunday In Louisiana
For a lot of states in America, there are blue laws. This restricts a couple of things, but mainly it limits the hours that alcohol is allowed to be sold or purchased on a Sunday.
However, this blue law doesn’t apply to Louisiana. Instead, the state laws in Louisiana allow any kind of wine, liquor, and beer to be sold every day for 7 days a week.
There are no restrictions state wide on when alcohol can be sold or bought.
Yet, once again, certain parishes in Louisiana may limit the times of day or hours when you can sell beer.
Closing Time Of Bars In Louisiana
If you are planning a night out in Louisiana, then you need to know at which time the bars will close, so you know when the last call will be.
As we have mentioned above, all restaurants and bars must be closed by 2 am. Although, there are different rules in New Orleans.
The local laws there allow bars, especially in the French Quarter, to stay open 24/7.
Places That You Can Purchase Beer In Louisiana
As you can see, Louisiana has very loose beer laws, compared to the rest of America. Especially, as beer is pretty much available all day. You can purchase beer from the following places:
- Gas Stations
- Liquor And Package Stores
We have gone into little detail about each of these places below and the rules they have about selling beer in Louisiana.
Restaurants And Bars
It is common to go out for a drink or a meal, and you’ll be able to find somewhere in Louisiana that will sell you a beer.
However, there are a couple of conditions in which restaurants and bars will follow to be able to serve and sell you beer.
As we know, restaurants and bars can only sell or serve you beer until 2am. This rule applies everywhere in Louisiana, except for the French Quarter in New Orleans, where you will be served beer 24/7.
In restaurants and bars, there are various types of beers available. You can find every beer available from cans, draft beers and bottles.
Gas stations are known to sell beers as well. You can often purchase wine, liquor, and beer 24 hours a day at a gas station in Louisiana. However, you are more limited on the types of beer that will be available to buy.
Typically, you will be buying cans or bottles from a gas station that are sold in packs.
You will notice that a grocery store follows similar rules to selling beers to a gas station. You can purchase wine, 24 hours a day wine, liquor, and beer.
The types of beer that you buy are limited to cans and bottles, just like a gas station.
Liquor And Package Store
Again, a liquor and package store will follow the same rules as a gas station and grocery store. As you can see, Louisiana has very relaxed beer laws.
As a result, you can sell liquor, beer and wine, anytime every day in Louisiana in a liquor or package store. However, you can only buy or sell cans and bottled beer.
Taprooms And Breweries
In Louisiana, there are no state laws that deny you selling off-premises for taprooms or breweries. However, a lot of places will limit the hours they will sell their beer.
It is common to serve and sell beer in a taproom or breweries. However, the establishment must be shut by 2am, unless you are allowed to stay open longer if located in New Orleans.
Alongside that, you have the option to purchase a wide variety of beers from cans, draft, and bottles. However, growlers have to be sealed after they are filled by the brewery. This is normally done by shrink wrapping the cap.
Delivering Beer In Louisiana
Governor, John Bel Edwards, signed a bill which turned into a law in June 2020. This new law allowed for wine and beer to be delivered to homes in Louisiana by contract employees or third parties.
Therefore, this law allowed delivery services and apps such as Drizly and Uber Eats to offer on-demand wine and beer on their sites. Then wine and beer can be delivered to their home easily, in Louisiana.
Minimum Drinking Age Rules
In 1984, all states in America were told to follow the National Drinking Age Act. As a result, all states must follow the rule that the minimum drinking age is 21 years old.
Exceptions To The Minimum Drinking Age
As we have mentioned above, all states in America must follow the national drinking age which is 21 years old. However, there are a couple of exceptions. These exceptions include the following:
- A minor is able to drink alcohol if they are accompanied by someone who is over 21 years old. This can include any adult including a spouse, parent, or guardian.
- A minor is an exception to this rule, when they need to handle alcohol as part of their job. They could be a waiter or waitress in a restaurant.
- Someone who is under the minimum drinking age, may be allowed to drink alcohol if it is part of a religious celebration or in their own home.
Louisiana Drinking Laws
Overall, Louisiana has very relaxed drinking laws compared with other states in America. With New Orleans within Louisiana having its own unique laws.
Purchasing Unsealed Beers And Growler Containers
You are allowed to sell and buy growlers in Louisiana. However, this is only allowed as long as the growler has been sealed. Often bars and breweries who sell growlers will shrink wrap the cap to meet this condition.
However, opening or breaking the seal in any vehicle is against the law.
Open Containers On The Street
There is no statewide rule that bans the consumption or possession of alcohol in public areas like parks. However, some parishes do have a rule and ban it. So you need to check with the parish you are in for their local rule.
However, New Orleans allows anyone to carry or drink open containers in the French Quarter. This is allowed as long as the container is plastic, as glass bottles are banned.
Cans are actually seen as a gray area, they are expressly banned, but most people avoid them.
Open Containers In A Vehicle
There are drive-through daiquiri shops, which can cause confusion whether you can have an open container in your car. Having daiquiri in your vehicle is legal as long as it is left sealed.
Sealed is seen as the lid not being removed, and no contents have been removed at all. If you have an unsealed container in your vehicle, this is banned throughout Louisiana.
Driving And Alcohol In Louisiana
In every state and country, alcohol and driving are banned as it is really dangerous.
If you are caught drinking and driving in Louisiana, then you can be charged. Penalties for drinking and driving vary depending on how many offenses you have and your age.
If you are under 21 years old, it is illegal to have a blood alcohol content of 0.02%. If you found this, then you could face the following penalties.
For a first offense, you could be fined between $100 to $250, and have a substance abuse evaluation. This could then be followed by an enrolled in education driver improvement course.
However, if it is your second offense, then your file could be between $150 to $500.
Again, you may have a substance abuse evaluation, and go to jail for 10 days to 3 months. You will also be enrolled into the driver improvement course.
If you are over 21 years old and have a blood alcohol content of 0.08% is illegal, then you can be charged. All penalties are made through a judge.
For a first offense, you could face up to 6 months in jail and fined around $1,000 and court fees. Alongside this, your license will be suspended for a year.
However, for a second offense, you face the same penalties of a first offense. Yet, your license is suspended for 2 years instead.
Finally, for a third offense, you could face 1 year in jail and up to 5 years in prison.
There is a chance you will be confined to your house and fined up to $2,000 with court fees, and license suspended for 3 years.
This is then followed by a mandatory month substance abuse program.
Louisiana has some of the most relaxed beer laws within America. You can purchase beer any day and at any time. However, bars must close by 2 am in all parishes except New Orleans.
We hope you have found this article useful and understand the beer laws in Louisiana.